Boys' Rites of Passage

Our Sons' Futures

I Am Proud of You and I Love You

Posted by Thomas on December 28, 2011

We dropped my son off at the airport today. A 5-day leave isn’t long. He is headed to his first duty station as a United States Coast Guardsman to the largest USCG base in Kodiak Alaska.

USCG Station location

Before he got to this point though he survived the USCG boot camp and volunteered to be his company’s historian. Journaling the events that took place during basic. Check them out:

Post 1; Post 2; Post 3; Post 4

And see the graduation roster here.

How many times does it take hearing “I am proud of you and I love you” before you get tired of hearing it? I wondered as I expressed those words yet again this afternoon as he packed for this next phase of his journey. This time telling him goodbye was more emotional for me.

To all of you in our Village thank you again. We know you all are proud of him and love him too.

Peace,

2 Responses to “I Am Proud of You and I Love You”

  1. Thomas said

    Dani I am humbled by your comment. Thank you for your insights. May we all learn to not take the “group of little words with big meanings” for granted.
    Peace,

  2. Dani said

    “How many times does it take hearing, “I am proud of you and I love you” before you get tired of hearing it?”

    I would offer that it’s possible to NEVER get tired of hearing it, rather the likelihood to take those words FOR GRANTED is high…

    I’d like to challenge husbands, wives, parents, aunties, 2nd cousins, brother’s neighbor – and everyone else that exists in the village – to give the gifts of ‘surprise’, ‘flattery’, ‘gratitude’, ‘admiration’, and a host of other facial expressions and ecstatic emotions whenever “I am proud of you and I love you” goes forth. It’s soooo much easier to take a group of little words with big meanings for granted as opposed to the big words which mean little.

    Okay, I’m jumping down from my soapbox now…I know that’s not what this post was about, but there’s something about that question that struck me.

    “I AM PROUD OF YOU AND I LOVE YOU”. SAY IT LOUD AND RECEIVE IT OFTEN…

Leave a Reply

 
