Boys' Rites of Passage

Our Sons' Futures

Proud Village and Prouder Parents

Posted by Thomas on December 23, 2011

We picked up my son Glynne from the airport late last night. It is hard to explain how good it felt to put my arms around him after his return from the United States Coast Guard boot camp training and hold him tightly. We talked until 2 A.M. As my wife and I sat and listened I beamed inside. Proud that he is not idle. Proud that he has direction. Proud that he pushed himself and came out on the other side successfully. Proud that my son continues his journey into responsible male adulthood. As he shared with us I saw the years of effort, love, and support by so many manifested before my eyes. I am humbled to no end. And I thank The Village.

Peace,

2 Responses to “Proud Village and Prouder Parents”

  1. Thomas said

    Thank you so much for stopping by! I like the slant of your blog. Now, with the kids gone, it is time to fill your world with other wonderful opportunities to grow and be adventurous.

  2. kewsmith said

    I’m so happy for you. Hope your holidays were great and I hope your New Year is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

 
