Boys' Rites of Passage

Our Sons' Futures

The Power of Focus

Posted by Thomas on November 26, 2011

My son finally got a chance to call home on Thanksgiving Day. I was extremely glad to hear his voice. He shared some challenges he faced during his first week in the U.S. Coast Guard boot camp and expressed he had refocused himself. 

His mention of focus got me thinking about how focus brings on clarity and clarity wrapped in action leads to the accomplishment of set goals. 

I am proud of him but not just because he’s in the military, more importantly, because he is not idle or aimless. At age 18 I was aimless with no real direction, he’s a few steps ahead of where I was at his age. He doesn’t like when I talk about him like this, he feels I’m giving him more credit than he deserves – but that’s what parents do. 

However, even the mention of refocusing energy and intentions to accomplish the task at hand (namely, completing boot camp successfully) alone is more than I could ever articulate at age 18. 

 

So, what about you? As a young adult were you able to competently express things like focus, intention, and goal-setting? My son’s focus I believe will empower him to complete boot camp strongly. 

I am looking forward to reading your stories about the power of focus. 

Peace,

Leave a Reply

 
