Boys' Rites of Passage

Our Sons' Futures

What Me an Empty Nester

Posted by Thomas on November 15, 2011

Before you continue:  

This post has 228 words. 

On average, it will take you less than 3 minutes to read.

An empty nester is a parent whose children have all grown up and left home. Empty nest syndrome is a general feeling of loneliness that parents or guardians may feel when one or more of their children leave home.

When my son was born I was 23 years old. Now that he is a burgeoning young adult in the military I am excited for him and glad. Glad that he is not like I was at 18, aimless.

We had a conversation before he left for boot camp. He was concerned about his place in the world. I told him the adult secret, figuring out where we fit in the big scheme of things is something every conscientious person ponders at some point. I went on to explain that most adults twice his age are still wrestling with that question.

Now that he is out of the house I am asked regularly do I miss him, are we lonely, how has his absence affected us (my wife and I).

The ultimate question has been how does it feel to be an empty-nester?

A what? Me, an empty nester, give me a break.

I don’t feel lonely or sad. I feel invigorated and proud. My son may actually make it into adult manhood without all the life-draining drama I went through.

Friends, that’s cause for celebration. Not sadness.

Peace,

3 Responses to “What Me an Empty Nester”

  1. Thomas said

    Thanks for sharing. It is truly a time of reflection since, as parents, we pour so much of ourselves into the wellbeing of our children–now, for some of us, it is time to re-discover ourselves.

  2. Thomas said

    Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. Come back often and spread the word.

  3. kewsmith said

    My last child left for college this year. I too am proud of all three of my children. It was nice to read your post and know others feel this way. Your son sounds like a wise young man.

Leave a Reply

 
