Boys' Rites of Passage

Our Sons' Futures

What Else Can I Teach My Son Before He Enters the World?

Posted by Thomas on October 22, 2011

Less than two weeks from now my son will leave for the U.S. Coast Guard. Although I know he isn’t leaving permanently at this point (at least I think I know) I keep asking myself “What else can I teach him before he leaves and enters the world?” 

There are so many things I haven’t taught him; because there is so much I don’t know. On some levels I feel I have the right answers to his questions. The right answers to situations he yet faces. On other levels I feel clueless. 

Honestly, although I’ve done what I consider to be the best job I could, as a father, I still wonder if it is enough. Did I give him enough to start his life with? Does he have enough to thrive, not just exist? 

Sigh… 

What about you? If you are a father (moms can comment too) leave your comment. Did you feel your son or daughter was prepared as they ventured into the world from the protection of your home? I would like to hear your thoughts on the matter.

Peace,

Leave a Reply

 
