Boys' Rites of Passage

Our Sons' Futures

A Simple Idea for a Rites of Passage Program

Posted by Thomas on October 20, 2011

Before you continue:

This post has 216 words.

On average, it will take you less than 3 minutes to read.

The simple idea for a rites of passage program is: as a loving parent examine yourself seriously; consider the purpose you want to fulfill by creating a customized rites of passage program for your son.

When I began searching for information surrounding a rites of passage that search inevitably caused me to face some of my own shortcomings.

For me the rites of passage program we created for my son served several purposes, here are some:

  • To draw a distinct line between boyhood and manhood
  • To publicly acknowledge my son’s transition from one life stage to another
  • To expose him to information and concepts I was ignorant about
  • To challenge him to grow mentally, physically, and spiritually

In order to fulfill these purposes I had to look in the mirror and face my shortcomings. For example: I’m not a business owner but I didn’t let that stop me. We became a part of a youth group that allowed him to meet, speak with, and interact with captains of industry. This fulfilled my purpose of exposing my son to entrepreneurialism.

Again, the simple idea for a rites of passage program is: as a loving parent examine yourself seriously; consider the purpose you want to fulfill by creating a customized rites of passage program for your son.

Peace,

2 Responses to “A Simple Idea for a Rites of Passage Program”

  1. Thomas said

    David thanks for stopping by. I visited your site and am equally impressed by your work. Maybe we can learn more from one another on the topic of rites of passage. Stay in touch. After you’ve read the ebook I would like to hear any critical comments or suggestions for additional materials you may have. Thanks again.

  2. Hello Positivepassage,
    Cool Post. Nice One!

Leave a Reply

 
