Boys' Rites of Passage

Our Sons' Futures

Depression: Counterintuitive to a Positive Passage

Posted by Thomas on October 24, 2010

PBS’s Depression: Out of the Shadows is a must watch documentary. Check out their site or watch it next time it airs in your local viewing area. Depression, from my personal journey, is counterintuitive to a positive passage for anyone but especially our young people.

Depression is counterintuitive to positive passage into manhood

Depression is counterintuitive to positive passage into manhood

As fathers and husbands how often do we, because of pride, ego, and labeling, fail to seek help for mental health issues? This PBS documentary bought to mind my failure in appropriately communicating the importance of good mental health to my wife and son.

Immediately after the show I talked with my wife noting some changes in her patterns lately; asking if she was okay. I will talk with my 16 year old about depression also. Reiterating to him: my own struggles with depression; that he can talk to us (his parents) about anything regardless how uncomfortable; that it is okay to ask for help. The PBS documentary pricked my conscious to be more communicative in my own family, alert for myself and others I love.

Many choices I made as a teen and young adult were skewed due to my depression leading to risky behavior, poor self image, drug experimentation and alcohol abuse. But I functioned and figured “that’s just the way life is for everyone”. I functioned and figured “everybody feels this bad this often”. I struggle with it still today, approaching forty. I will be more diligent.

Visit the PBS website, check out their resources, and watch the documentary. Help yourself and the young men in your world because depression can undermine a positive passage into manhood.

2 Responses to “Depression: Counterintuitive to a Positive Passage”

  1. Rites Inc. said

    Margot:
    Thanks for visiting and commenting on the site. Feel free to come again and share our site with your network. I want to continue educating other families about the importance of a rites of passage program for all boys.

  2. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!?

Leave a Reply

 
